A singing dove sings of peace in Somalia

On a fine golden morning.

I found a singing dove.

It sang with such beauty and grace.

It whistled pure harmonies.

Featured image

I thought it was playing me a special tune.

One of a deeper meaning.

One with a deeper understanding.

Of this chaotic weeping nation of mine

images (11)

The singing dove sung so peacefully.

And I watched and wondered:

About my weeping Motherland.

Many children and young people will ask:

What is the color of peace.

Explain to me the smell of peace.

What is the voice of peace.

Tell me the dialect of peace.

Help me understand.

Is peace a destination we reach.

Is hope only a dream of the caged.

How do we re-write the alphabets of peace.

As it flew away, it seemed to be singing to me;

And to me alone.

Oh I don’t know much, it sung.

images (12)

But oh dreamers of peace in Somalia, come, let us walk together.

Oh lovers of peace in Somalia, come, let us sing together.

Oh servers of peace in Somalia, come, let us serve together.

For I know a life of peace satisfies all.

As a mind of peace awakens all

And a heart of peace loves all.

I don’t know much it seemed to say, as it flew away.

I only know the beauty of peace.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Sahro Ahmed Koshin from the book ‘Sounds of Laughter: An Anthology of Poems from the Soul’. (c). 2014.

One thought on “A singing dove sings of peace in Somalia

Leave a Reply

